TOP 10 – #3: Value of the “Un”Session

TOP 10 COUNTDOWN – Summary of ECI831 Learnings

 It is with this post, I continue my TOP 10 Countdown as a summary of learnings in our ECI831 class.  This Top 10 inspired the creation of my “Future of education?” video for our final reflection project.  And the countdown continues… 

AT #3:  Value of the “Un” Session

When Dr. Couros proposed the concept of the “un” session, I really had no idea how it would play out.  Personally, I desperately wanted to volunteer to lead a discussion but was not feeling like enough of an expert on our proposed topics to take the lead.  That being said, I did participate in the idea sharing activity proposed in the Google Document and gained much from the variety of ‘hot topics’ discussed during our synchronous session.  Jud and Lisa delivered a presentation about “What’s (Not so) Good About Social Media”, Angela and Jamie teamed up to talk to us about the value of “Sharing with Colleagues”, and two of our mentors contributed to the discussion.  Tania Sterling spoke to us about “Social Media for Assessment” and Lyn Hilt presented on “Social Media, Leadership, and Admin”. 

 Throughout this ECI831 course, I have learned about Web 2.0 Tools by reading the blogposts of my classmates.  It has been great to learn more about tools such as Glogster, Prezi, Wordle, etc. by viewing very practical posts which highlight the tool, the process of learning how to use the tool, and the proposed applicability to teaching and learning.  This ‘transparancy’ of the learning process has helped me tremendously.  It is also through class discussion and blogposts that I have come to a deeper understanding of concepts surrounding remixing, the Creative Commons, creativity, copyright, net neutrality, digital citizenship, etc.  I very much value the contributions of my classmates, our course mentors, our guest speakers, and our instructor in making this a rich learning experience for me.  I am very thankful to Dr. Couros for experimenting with the ‘mentorship’ as this was a unique approach to the class and recieving comments from mentors, having them contribute to class discussions/presentations, etc. took the experience to another level.  Thank you!

I liked the idea of the “Un”Session so much, that I plan to use this model in an upcoming Career Development Teacher meeting in December.  I think this will be a welcomed change in format to our typical meetings.  I was inspired!  I am beginning to the appreciate the value of less formal learning.  As George Seimens says, “Informal learning is a signficant aspect of our learning experience.”

~ by lewisv on November 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
