Are you a leader or follower?

It takes guts to be both a leader and one of the first followers.  Both roles are very important in creating a movement.  See what you think… 

This video from YouTube makes me pause to think about leaders and early followers in the area of technology, social media, and open education. 

Feel free to expand on your vote or your personal thoughts on leaders and followers in the comment section.  Are you a risk taker?  Are you one who would rather remain part of the original crowd as a onlooker?  Do you see a role for leaders and followers in creating change?

~ by lewisv on November 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “Are you a leader or follower?”

  1. Good post, I think I am not a risk taker in terms of technology although I like trying new things in life, but when it comes to technological complicated stuff I get bored easily. But, definitely I am pro technology and I try to incorporate technology in my classes. I adore the video, it’s one of the greatest video I have ever seen. It really explains in a scientific way how people follow each other and that it’s the first followers who turn this crazy individual into a pioneer leader.

  2. I think to have any kind of change you need everyone to be a leader in a sense. People must embrace the change and inspire a shared vision and model the way to that change. I guess what I am trying to say is that followers need to become leaders in a sense in order for real change to take hold. Great post, it really got me thinking.

Leave a Reply

 
