Getting Oriented to this Virtual Learning Community

This week I have spent the majority of my time becoming oriented to this Virtual Learning Community.  In addition, I have invested time into getting set up with some of the various technologies we will need to progress with this course.  I switched from Blogger to WordPress (a big leap for me!).  In addition, I set up a Google Reader account and have subscribed to a few RSS Feeds as an experiment.  That being said, I know I have done something incorrectly as some of the blog feeds update me with ‘template’ information rather than blog ‘content’.  ????  I am sure I will sort things out as I learn from all of your as we progress with this course.

I have spent a riduculous number of hours creating an introductory video for this class.   Feel free to check it out as I managed to upload it to YouTube and to our course wiki. 

A number of you have created some amazing introductory videos.  I have no idea how you produced them, but I am game to learn more.   

My biggest struggle right now is to determine how to use this blog to reflect on my readings and interact with all of you.  At present, even though we meet on Elluminate each week and I have been busy reading your blogs and introductions, I do not yet feel a strong sense of identity or connectedness in this environment.  Thus far, I have been a rather passive observer.  I have not yet left any comments or made much effort to connect on a more interactive level using this technology.  

I am sure as we continue networking, sharing, and establishing trust, I will become more comfortable in this virtual learning community.

I look forward to continued learning and to becoming connected…

~ by lewisv on September 26, 2010.

5 Responses to “Getting Oriented to this Virtual Learning Community”

  1. Great video Vanessa! I understand what you mean about it taking countless hours to put them together. I am still working on mine.

    I liked what you had to say about the definition of career. I also believe in this type a definition. A career is not just a job. It is about your total experiences, including what you do outside of work hours.

    Also, I noticed that you had a picture form Jan Lake in it. My family has been going there every summer for about 30 years. I haven’t been able to make it in a few years but I do enjoy it up there!

    • Hi Jen. This was our first summer to Jan Lake. The trip was a great family getaway – beautiful scenery, relaxing, and fabulous fishing!

  2. Hi Vanessa,
    Kudos to you for a wonderful introduction video!

    Your comment on “ridiculous” hours resonates with me, as I find anytime I do anything related to a computer, the hours consumed are indeed ridiculous! There are so many things to learn …

    I have not done a video, and am unsure if I will be able to find the time, but please know you have inspired me!

    Cheers,
    Dianna

  3. Awesome, Vanessa! I am so glad that you took the time to create this video as I understand how long this kind of thing takes.

    Thanks for jumping right into the work – I promise it will be worthwhile!

  4. Thanks for the video! Great job!

Leave a Reply

 
