Initial Wonderings

I just transferred this posting from my blog on Blogger to my new blog on WordPress.  Thanks to our class discussion tonight, I managed to set up a WordPress account.  As a result, some of my initial wonderings (as copied below) have already been addressed…

The world is mysterious and is full of wonder. As Neil Armstrong said, “Mystery creates wonder and wonder is the basis of man’s desire to understand.”. I have created this blog to house my thoughts as I progress with our University of Regina EC&I 831 Social Media and Open Education Class.

As Alec mentioned in our first syncrhonous class (very cool experience being that he hosted it from Shanghai and we conversed with classmates from around the world!), this course is going to push our boundaries. I am certain this class will push my limits in relation to my technical expertise and my understandings of opportunities made possible with social media and open education. My current understandings are limited, but I am excited about exploring these opportunities together in this EC&I 831 learning community.

Our first assignment involves creating a blog. I have used blogger on a limited basis before, so I planned on creating a new blog in WordPress as suggested by Alec. I already chickened out as, despite a Google search (knowing that Google will be our friend during this class!), I do not understand what is meant by checking with my web host provider or using an FTP program to upload files. I also discovered that WordPress requires a download to my computer which I am not 100% certain about. I can already see this is going to be a steep learning curve! (WordPress Website)

As you can see, I decided to stick with blogger for now as I am somewhat familiar with it. That being said, I am not against experimenting with Word Press once I learn more about it from all of you. If anyone can ease my anxieties about things like web hosting, FTP programs, and downloading WordPress to my computer, I am more than open to discussion. 🙂

As our class progressed on Tuesday night, I was watching icons appear on the screen reprenting Teachertube, Facebook, Twitter, Zoho, Ning, etc. At this point in time, I have a very limited knowledge of these applications. I hope this blog will become a home new learning as we connect and explore our ‘wonder’-FULL world!

~ by lewisv on September 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Initial Wonderings”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. I think you will enjoy WordPress. I used it for several years on my blog.

Leave a Reply

 
